W&L Law Review Names New Staff Writers

Lexington, VA Friday, July 28, 2006

Twenty-four students at Washington and Lee University's School of Law have been named staff writers for the Law Review, completing the staff for the upcoming year's edition, Volume 64. They join an editorial board comprised of 15 third-year students, including Editor-in-Chief Donald Houser and Executive Editor Meredith Abernathy.

The second-year students were chosen from a pool of about 70 candidates following a rigorous competition and selection process, known as the Write-On competition. W&L's selection process is unique among the nation's top law schools, in that no positions are awarded to students based solely on grades. Instead, the application process begins with a series of short meetings to familiarize applicants with the Law Review and with the journal's writing and citation styles. Candidates are then asked to participate in a writing competition requiring them to write a paper outlining their solution to a complex problem supplied by the Law Review, along with supporting cases and other sources. This year's problem, a First Amendment issue, concerned the free speech rights of a public school student set against the backdrop of school violence.
The submissions, which are anonymous, are graded by the Law Review's editorial board. The authors of the top four submissions receive automatic invitations to join the Law Review. The remaining 20 staff writers are chosen by combining their writing scores and first-year grades, with fall semester grades, spring semester grades, and the Write-On score each comprising one-third of the total score.

This year's staff writers are: Jessica R. Berenyi, of Connecticut; Christopher Brady, of Tennessee; Benjamin Conley, of Kentucky; Robert Dickens, of North Carolina; Evan Fetters, of Utah; Michael Gaetani, of Pennsylvania; Mary Godwin, of Alabama; Jonathon Hance, of Texas; Lisa J. Hedrick, of Virginia; Kimberly Herb, of Pennsylvania; Alex Hornaday, of Tennessee; H. Marty Kang, of Texas; Anna Ku, of Virginia; Luppe Luppen, of California; John Martin, of the District of Columbia; Stephen McNeill, of Alabama; Seth Mott, of Utah; John Power, of New York; Colin Ram, of Illinois; Megan Reed, of South Carolina; Juliette Syn, of Georgia; Whitney Travis, of Florida; Tyler Wolf, of Texas; and Kent Woods, of Nevada

First published in 1939, the Washington and Lee Law Review presents articles contributed by leading scholars, judges and lawyers, as well as essays, book reviews and student notes. It is published quarterly by students of the W&L School of Law.

Email This Page