The Law Library is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 52 weeks a year.
Library services are available at the following times:
|Monday - Thursday||8 a.m. - 9 p.m.|
|Friday||8 a.m. - 5 p.m.|
|Saturday||10 a.m. - 5 p.m.|
|Sunday||1 p.m. - 9 p.m.|
|Monday to Thursday||8 a.m. - 8 p.m.|
|Friday||8 a.m. - 5 p.m.|
|Sunday||5 p.m. - 8 p.m.|
Hours vary during examination periods, holidays and summer months.
Main Floor (3)
Law Library Administrative Office
Quiet Zone carrels 420-452
Reading Room (3A)
Federal Statutes and Regulations
Selected Legal Forms
American Law Reports
4th Circuit and Delaware Codes
South Eastern Reporter
South Eastern Digest
Level 2 - Quiet Carrels
Quiet Zone carrels 258-327
Compact Stacks (2)
U.S. Court of Claims
Regional Reporters (Except South Eastern)
State Materials (Except 4th Circuit States and Delaware)
Supreme Court Landmark Briefs
Upper Stacks (1)
Classified Treatises A-KF3945
Lower Stacks (1A)
Classified Treatises KF3946-Z
"Stacking" refers to the practice of leaving library and other study materials in common library spaces for ongoing use by a student. Stacking is permitted in all areas of the library except on level three. The Law Library reserves the right to revoke the stacking privilege. Personal items are to be stored in your carrel or locker. Items such as computers, printers, clothing, bedding, food, and beverages are not protected by a stacking permit and should not be left in common library spaces. Patrons who wish to stack materials should place their stacking permit - initialed with the current date - on top of the materials in use. The Law Library will honor stacking permits for a period of two days. Stacking permits with a date older than two days are subject to removal by the Law Library. Please be respectful of your fellow students. Library space is limited and demand is high. The stacking privilege is not permission to "homestead" or monopolize space in the Law Library. Stacking permits are not required for materials in a student's carrel.
Certain materials in the Law Library may not be removed from the building. Items in this category include: loose-leaf services, session laws, codes, digests, and materials in the reference collection. Faculty, staff, and students should use their University Card to check out materials.
Circulation periods for W&L students are, in general:
|Circulating Stacks Books||
|Unbound Periodicals||3 weeks|
|Open Reserve Books||48 hours|
|Reserve Books & Photocopies||4 hours|
|Past examinations||4 hours|
|Audio/videotapes & DVDs||48 hours|
|Main Reading Room||7 days|
Items must be returned when recalled and must be returned or renewed by the expiration of the loan period. Generally, items may be renewed twice. Once the maximum number of renewals is exceeded, the item must be returned before it can be checked out again. All items checked out for longer than 4 hours are subject to recall by the Library staff. Adjustments to some circulation periods will occur at exam times.
If a law student has overdue items checked out then no additional library materials may be circulated to that law student.
The Law Library respects each library user's rights to privacy and confidentiality regarding information sought or received and resources consulted, borrowed, acquired or transmitted, or services provided.
Circulating Books in the General Collection and Escape Hatch
First through Third Notices - Fees are waived if the material is returned within 21 days of the original due date ("the Grace Period").
Upon the expiration of the Grace Period, accrued fees (50 cents per day) retroactive to the original due date will be owed.
A Final Notice will be issued after the expiration of the Grace Period plus 7 days at which point accrued fees plus the actual replacement cost of the material will be due.
Open Reserve, Closed Reserve, and Audio/Videotapes & DVDs (except Escape Hatch Videos/DVDs)
Fees are waived if material is returned within 24 hours of the original due date ("the Grace Period").
Upon the expiration of the Grace Period, accrued fees ($1.00 per hour) retroactive to the original due date will be owed. A Final Notice will be issued after the expiration of the Grace Period plus 24 hours at which point accrued fees plus the actual replacement cost of the material will be due.
Please contact Bonnie Gates at firstname.lastname@example.org to make arrangements if circumstances prevent the timely return of materials.